2017 Immigrants of Distinction Awards Finalists | Immigrant Services Calgary

2017 Immigrants of Distinction Awards Finalists

Immigrant Services Calgary (ISC) is pleased to announce the finalists for the 21st Annual Immigrants of Distinction Awards.

Award recipients will be announced at the gala, held on Friday, March 10, 2017, at 4:30 p.m. at The Westin Calgary. The event will host over 600 guests, including representation from three levels of government, the corporate community, and the voluntary sector. This year’s Immigrants of Distinction Awards will also serve to celebrate two momentous anniversaries; Immigrant Services Calgary’s 40th anniversary of delivering quality settlement services to Calgary’s newcomers, and Canada’s 150th anniversary of Confederation.

The 2017 Immigrants of Distinction Awards finalists are as follows:


Achievement Under 35: Dr. Anupam Das, Dr. Bhavini Gohel, Dr. Diana Nada
Arts and Culture: Elena Bushan, Sylvia Prochownik, Tien (Janey) Luc-German
Community Service: Dahlia ElShafie, Miguel Cortines, Miroslav Reljic
Entrepreneurship and Innovation: Dr. Anmol Kapoor, Naomi Pereira, Wilson Wong
Lifetime Achievement: Dr. Anil Mehrotra, Dr. Irene Estay, Dr. Richard Guy  
Science, Technology, Engineering and Math: Dr. Laleh Behjat, Dr. Mohamed Elhabiby, Dr. Wael Badawy
Organizational Diversity: Evans, Genesis Centre, Syrian Refugees Support Group
Youth Scholarships: Ayush Ghosh, Janica Echavez, Jeremy Fan, Nicole Mfoafo-M’Carthy, Zeel Patel

These finalists showcase a broad range of incredible global talents and contributions to our community, and are united in recognizing that they exemplify the high level of achievement of Calgary’s immigrant population.

Tickets are now on sale, and can be purchased online at www.immigrantsofdistinction.com. Early Bird ticket sales are available until February 1st.